Friday, July 4, 2014

Why It's Hard to Be Gluten Free

Gluten-free is a tough lifestyle at times. Why? Well, gluten is a sneaky and sticky ingredient that hides in some of the most unsuspecting places....

Being gluten-free can be tougher than you think

Read Your Ingredient Labels Carefully to See if The Food's Gluten-Free

Wheat, barley and rye are the most common and widely known sources of gluten. Those on a medically-necessary gluten-free diet know to steer clear of breads, pastas and cookies without a gluten-free label.

 Unfortunately, adhering to a gluten-free diet isn’t as simple as this. You need to read ingredients to be safe. Failing to identify trace amounts of gluten can lead to several unpleasant symptoms and long-term health problems.

Gluten-Free Foods: What You Don't Know

In order to make your gluten-free life a little easier, your friends at Venice Bakery have identified six of the most overlooked sources of gluten:

The Soy Sauce Problem: This ancient Chinese condiment has prompted a lot of conversation in the gluten-free community. It is widely considered a harmful source of gluten. Soy sauce produced by chemical hydrolysis not only includes gluten, but it may also contain toxic carcinogenic components. Solution: Try to find “Tamari” in your grocery store as it is gluten-free and a delicious substitute made from 100% soybeans.

French-Fries Problem: Many restaurants use one central fryer to cook everything on the menu. That means a bath of heavily breaded chicken tenders could be sharing the same oil as what you thought to be a harmless order of fresh cut french-fries. Solution: Before you leave the house, research the restaurant you will be visiting. Many places are starting to incorporate Celiac-friendly cooking methods. Ask your server if there is a dedicated fryer that is used just for french fries. If not, better opt out for a side of veggies instead. 

Candy Problem: Finding gluten in candy can be a tricky task, especially on Halloween. Every brand and product differs from candy to candy. For example, most Hershey’s products are gluten-free, but their Reese’s peanut butter seasonal shaped cups contain gluten. Licorice is another candy that is easily overlooked. Most types of licorice, including Twizzlers, use wheat flour as a binding source. Solution: There is no one-size-fits-all solution for detecting gluten in candy. Checking the manufacturer’s website or doing a search on one of the Celiac disease organizations like NFCA are the best ways to protect yourself. Check out the following list for several gluten-free candy options: http://celiac.org/wp-content/uploads/2013/10/Halloween-Candy-List.pdf.

Chips Problem: Be wary of both tortilla and potato chips. Tortilla chips can be deceiving; although they are labeled “corn”, many artisan tortilla chips contain a wheat-based ingredient. Potato chips could potentially be hiding gluten within their seasonings, especially barbeque and salt and vinegar (malt vinegar is barley based). Solution: Next time you’re at a Mexican restaurant, skip the chips. Many times the restaurant double fries the chips in their gluten-contaminated fryer. Next time you’re buying potato chips, look on the ingredients for anything containing malt vinegar or wheat.

 Eggs Problem: Don’t fret; the dozen eggs in your fridge DO NOT naturally contain any gluten. However, some restaurants put pancake batter in their scrambled egg and omelet mixes to give it a fluffier consistence! Bet you didn’t know that! Solution: Don’t be afraid to ask your waiter. Usually, they are more than happy to check with the chef.

 Utensils Problem: This is one of the most looked over sources of gluten. GLU-ten is just as sticky as the name suggests. For example, when a knife is used to butter a piece of wheat bread, tiny gluten particles stick to the knife. If the knife is reused on a gluten-free slice of bread the gluten particles transfer once again, contaminating the new piece of bread. This example holds true for ALL surfaces, appliances, sauces and utensils that come in contact with gluten. Solution: If you have recently committed to living gluten-free, wash and sanitize all of your old utensils, especially wood spoons, etc. If you have others living in the home that don’t share your gluten-free lifestyle, ask them to use a separate cooking space when preparing their gluten dishes. And of course YOU MUST HAVE YOUR OWN TOASTER!!! Only gluten-free bread can go in it. When dining out, ask your server about the restaurant’s gluten-free cooking methods. Many restaurants with a gluten-free menu are unaware of the dangers of cross contamination. Be sure to do some research on restaurants with training in gluten-free preparation.

Venice Bakery
134 Main Street
El Segundo, CA 90245
(310) 322–7357
http://www.venicebakery.com/